LibGuides: Education Research Resources: Articles

Essential Education Databases

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of over 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education, with over 50 journals dedicated to this important topic, and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Provide full text for titles and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty within more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC is a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable, Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information.
Literary Index This link opens in a new window
Gale Literary Index provides quick and easy access to author and title listings from over 130 literature products from Gale and the imprints Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers. The referenced products themselves will contain complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings.
MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. Full text is also available for 85,670 biographies and over 107,000 primary source documents. Additionally, MAS Ultra – School Edition contains more than 360 reference books, an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Professional Development Collection is a highly specialized database of full-text electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians and education researchers. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals. Full text information in this collection as far back as 1965.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in the database are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.

Tips and Tricks

Don't be afraid to use more general resource databases or those from other subjects. For example, a psychology database may turn up more relevant information if you are looking for developmental information in regards to education. Check out the full list of databases at our A-Z List.
Do use interlibrary loan if an article or book you want to read it isn't readily available at Immaculata. There is no cost to you and articles are normally received within 72 business hours.
Do look at other Immaculata University guides for assistance in your research, such as Databases 101 and Research Fundamentals.

Best Multidisciplinary Choices

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
A definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and contains over 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s.
Book Review Index Online (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 5 million book reviews, allowing users to conduct research in numerous disciplines, including literature, history, education, psychology, and more.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
Offers access to more than 1,000 peer-reviewed journals with over 800,000 titles. Access back to 1999, where available.

Search the Library

Use this search bar to look for various materials, including journal articles. This works in much the same way as a Google search, but ensure that your wording is precise and academic to get the best results.

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to look for academic articles. If you find something that is not full text, feel free to request it through Immaculata by submitting an Interlibrary Loan request.