LibGuides: Psychology Research Resources: Articles

Essential Psychology Databases

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
A definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and contains over 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s.
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Provides users with a comprehensive guide to thousands of contemporary testing instruments. The series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within a diverse group of areas. Entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts.
Psychology (GALE OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and indexing of key psychology journals. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research. Additionally, Psychology Database includes full text dissertations representing a range of psychology disciplines including behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial, personality, physiological, psychobiology, psychometrics and social psychology.

Tips and Tricks

Don't be afraid to use more general resource databases or those from other subjects. For example, an education database may give you different results when searching for research related to school aged children. Check out the full list of databases at our A-Z List.
Do use interlibrary loan if an article or book you want to read it isn't readily available at Immaculata. There is no cost to you and articles are normally received within 72 business hours.
Do look at other Immaculata University guides for assistance in your research, such as Databases 101 and Research Fundamentals.

Best Multidisciplinary Choices

ACADEMIC OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Contemporary Women's Issues (GALE OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Offers comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women's lives across the globe. Users will find timely and historically relevant content on topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of over 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education, with over 50 journals dedicated to this important topic, and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals. Includes full text of articles from some 215 journals dating as far back as 1995 and indexing and abstracts of over 625 periodicals dating as far back as 1983, nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.

Search the Library

Use this search bar to look for various materials, including journal articles. This works in much the same way as a Google search, but ensure that your wording is precise and academic to get the best results.

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to look for academic articles. If you find something that is not full text, feel free to request it through Immaculata by submitting an Interlibrary Loan request.