LibGuides: Psychology Research Resources: Books and eBooks

Book Choices from our Catalog

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by American Psychiatric Association Staff
Call Number: R 616.89075 D540 2013

ISBN: 9780890425541

Publication Date: 2013-05-22

The most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. DSM-5 is used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders, and is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings - inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private-practice, and primary care.
APA Educational Psychology Handbook by Karen R. Harris (Editor); Steve Graham (Editor)
Call Number: R 370.15 A639 2012

ISBN: 9781433809965

Publication Date: 2011-11-15

The APA Educational Psychology Handbook reflects the broad nature of the field today, with state-of-the-science reviews of the diverse critical theories driving research and practice; in-depth investigation of the range of individual differences and cultural/contextual factors that affect student achievement, motivation, and beliefs; and close examination of the research driving current assessment, decision making, teaching skills and content, teacher preparation, and the promotion of learning across the life span and with special populations.
APA Dictionary of Psychology by Gary R. Vandenbos (Editor)
ISBN: 9781591473800

Publication Date: 2006-07-15

The largest association of psychologists in the world - the American Psychological Association - presents the definitive information on the language of the field, including: 25,000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions; balanced coverage of over 90 subareas across the field of psychology,

eBook Choices from our Catalog

The Psychology Research Handbook by Frederick Leong; James Austin
ISBN: 9780761930228

Publication Date: 2005-09-08

The Psychology Research Handbook is the ideal textbook for graduate students studying advanced research methods in courses such as Research Methods in Psychology, Advanced Methods, Experimental Methods, Research Design and Methodology, Research Practicum, and Quantitative Research Design and Analysis in Psychology. It is also the perfect resource for research professionals as well as for individual research assistants in the midst of research projects.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology by David Matsumoto (Editor)
ISBN: 9780521854702

Publication Date: 2009-09-07

The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology is the first and only dictionary that surveys the broad discipline of psychology from an international, cross-cultural, and interdisciplinary focus. This focus was achieved in several ways. The managing and consulting editorial boards were comprised of world-renowned scholars in psychology from many different countries, not just the United States.

Databases to Search for eBooks

APA PsycBooks

Includes over 52,000 chapters in PDF from over 3,500 books, published by APA and other distinguished publishers. It includes over 1,600 classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology dating from the 1600s, and the exclusive electronic release of more than 1,500 authored entries from the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.
eBook Central

At the core of ProQuest's Ebook Central is an exhaustive selection of authoritative, scholarly content — 790,000 titles and 1,350 imprints from more than 650 publishers on one platform. An average of 100,000 newly published titles will be added each year.
eBook Collection

Search, browse, and read the complete text of thousands of ebooks. EBSCO's eBook Collection has titles from major scholarly, academic, and technical publishers such as Cambridge University Press, the University of Oklahoma Press, Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, O'Reilly, and many more.