LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Where do I find them?

Places to search

Below are several places that you can freely search and download OER. As a reminder anything found within these resources can be used in ways following the Five R's of OER.

Students: Use these resources in your research or as extra study materials for a course. They should not be used as a replacement for assigned materials.

Professors: Use these resources to supplement/replace materials in your classroom courses.

NOTE: Citations of others' work are expected. Attribution for Creative Commons' licensed works are legally required. More information about citation and attribution.

B.C. Open Collection
The B.C. Open Collection is home to a growing selection of open textbooks for a variety of subjects and specialties. Discover open textbooks that have been reviewed by faculty, meet accessibility requirements, and/or include ancillary materials (quizzes, test banks, slides, videos, etc.)
The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
The Mason OER Metafinder helps you find Open Educational Resources. Unlike other OER discovery sites, with the Metafinder you aren’t searching a static database that they’ve built. Instead, the OER Metafinder launches a real-time, simultaneous search across 22 different sources of open educational materials as you hit the Search button.
Because it is a real-time, federated search, it can take a bit longer than searches of pre-indexed, curated content.
MERLOT
A curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community. The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder web pages, together with associated comments, and personal collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material.
MIT OpenCourseWare
MIT OpenCourseWare is a free and open collection of material from thousands of MIT courses, covering the entire MIT curriculum.
Many OCW courses include an “Instructor Insights” section for practicing teachers, covering topics such as course design, active learning methods, and strategies to engage learners.
Open and free content on JSTOR and Artstor
The search bar on this page looks through all available OER on JSTOR. Some of what can be found include:
The collection of Open Access journals cover topical areas in sustainability and security studies, and offer broad coverage in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Thousands of Open Access ebooks are available from top scholarly publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, University College of London, and University of California Press – at no cost to libraries or users.
OpenStax
OpenStax is part of Rice University, which is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit charitable corporation. Their mission is to improve educational access and learning for everyone. They do this by publishing openly licensed books, developing and improving research-based courseware, establishing partnerships with educational resource companies, and more.
Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks. This is supported by The Open Education Network which is based in the Center for Open Education in the University of Minnesota’s College of Education and Human Development.