Databases 101: Other Tips and Tricks

Save constantly!

If you have read through the abstract and feel like the article is a good fit for your research save it! You can download it to your computer, email it to yourself, print it out, etc. If it turns not to work out you can just delete it. But it is much easier to do that then find it again.
Speaking of finding things again, save your searches! Some databases will allow you to save directly from the search bar. Others you may have to manually write down. Not only will this allow you to find articles you found previously, but it will ensure you are not wasting time and doing the same searches over and over again without results. 

Use other databases!

All of the images came from the database Academic Search Complete (EBSCO). However, Gabriele Library allows you to access around 90 different databases. Even with the exact same search terms and limiters, you will often receive different results in different databases. 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar, https://scholar.google.com/, is another resource that is available to you. Look at the following example:

The first two articles provide links in which you can read the full article through either Open Access or permissions from Immaculata. The other two articles allow you to view the abstracts. If those articles seem useful, you can request them through Interlibrary Loan.

Ask a Librarian or the Writing Center!

The librarians on staff are able to sit down with you (in person or virtually) to discuss the databases and how to use them. Stop by the library, email us at reference@immaculata.edu or give a call to 484-323-3839.

Also located in Gabriele Library is the Writing Center. For all the information for the Writing Center or to make an appointment visit their website or give them a call to 484-323-3494.