LibGuides: Business Research Resources: Articles

Essential Business Databases

Business (GALE OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily.
Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from more than 510 key publications dating back to 1995, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, and much more. Additional content includes quality indexing and abstracts for more than 900 publications dating back to 1982, as well as over 600,000 corporate names with cross references to specific industries and countries.
Business Insights:Global This link opens in a new window
Business Insights: Global is a source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
An essential article database for business research providing the full text for more than 2,000 periodicals, including about 1,000 scholarly journals. Covers virtually all disciplines in business and economics, including: accounting, economics, econometrics, finance, marketing, management, MIS, QMM and supply chain management.
Business Source Premier allows searching by fields relevant to the study of business, including company name, ticker symbol, product name, geographic location, and NAICS industry code.
Economics and Theory (GALE OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Offers instant access to full-text academic journals and magazines--with a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit bibliographic index. Powered by InfoTrac, it includes more than 1,800 titles.
Entrepreneurship (GALE OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Users find more than 500 subject-appropriate, active, full-text periodicals, including: Beverage Industry, Black Enterprise, Economist, Entrepreneurship: Theory and Practice, HR Magazine, Real Estate Weekly, Restaurant Business, Tea & Coffee Trade Journal, And more.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Incorporates more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.

Tips and Tricks

Don't be afraid to use more general resource databases or those from other subjects. For example, a psychology database may turn up more relevant information if you are looking for the mentality behind a business leader. Check out the full list of databases at our A-Z List.
Do use interlibrary loan if an article or book you want to read it isn't readily available at Immaculata. There is no cost to you and articles are normally received within 72 business hours.
Do look at other Immaculata University guides for assistance in your research, such as Databases 101 and Research Fundamentals.

Best Multidisciplinary Choices

Computer Science (GALE OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Access leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries.
Global Issues (GALE in Context) This link opens in a new window
Analyze important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content.
News (GALE OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Search the Library

Use this search bar to look for various materials, including journal articles. This works in much the same way as a Google search, but ensure that your wording is precise and academic to get the best results.

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to look for academic articles. If you find something that is not full text, feel free to request it through Immaculata by submitting an Interlibrary Loan request.