LibGuides: Business Research Resources: Online Resources

Open Access Academic Resources

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Search and access open access graduate theses and dissertations from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions around the world.
Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Use the free database to search more than 670,000 open electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) from more than 25 universities worldwide, and more are added daily.

Other Online Resources

CNBC
CNBC is a recognized world leader in business news and provides real-time financial market coverage and business content. Some of the articles on this website are behind a paywall.
Yahoo! Finance
At Yahoo Finance, you get free stock quotes, up-to-date news, portfolio management resources, international market data, social interaction and mortgage rates, etc. Business stories from other reputable business sites are also featured.

Tips and Tricks

Do save articles, either by printing them or saving the page as a PDF. While the above webpages are free to access, many others limit the amount of articles you can read in a month (including articles linked to on these pages when applicable). If you've already hit the maximum you won't be able to read the article again until it resets. Save the articles so you can continue to read them!

Get a Library Card

When in doubt, check your local library. Each library will give you access to different resources, many of which are not available through Immaculata. These resources can be accessed digitally, so you can use them right here at Gabriele Library or while doing schoolwork at home. I have linked below a few that you may have access to depending on your residency. Based on your home address, you may also be eligible for other library cards. Check for your local county/community library.

Chester County Library System (CCLS)
You are eligible for this card because you go to school in Chester County. Some of the resources you can access when you have a card include: The New York Times, Statista and Flipster- an application to read magazines.
Applications are available in Gabriele Library for this card.
Free Library of Philadelphia
To be eligible for this card, you need to be a resident of Pennsylvania. Some of the resources you can access when you have a card include: Access Video on Demand and World Book Online.

Finding Statistics

BigCharts
BigCharts is the world's most comprehensive and easy-to-use investment research website, providing access to professional-level research tools such as interactive charts, quotes, industry analysis and intraday stock screeners, as well as market news and commentary. These tools combine with a graphical interface and our intuitive navigation to make your research experience productive, entertaining and fun.
Economic Census
The Economic Census is the official five-year measure of American business and the economy. Data provided by businesses fuels the most comprehensive economic statistics available, representing all U.S. industries and geographies.
Economic Research Services (ERS) by the USDA
The mission of USDA's ERS is to anticipate trends and emerging issues in agriculture, food, the environment, and rural America and to conduct high-quality, objective economic research to inform and enhance public and private decision making.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
FRED is an online database consisting of hundreds of thousands of economic data time series from scores of national, international, public, and private sources. It combines data with a powerful mix of tools that help the user understand, interact with, display, and disseminate the data.
Industry Information Resources
Individual guides for industries identify resources available from trade associations, research firms, and other sources, with resource categories referenced in these guides including industry analysis, statistics, trends, and forecasts, financial statements and financial ratios, and compensation and salary surveys.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
Markets & data by The Economist
Tools put together by The Economist such as economic and financial indicators, exchange rates, and global housing prices.
New York Stock Exchange (NYSE)
The NYSE is the world’s largest stock exchange. Find investment-related statistics (bonds, equities, futures/options, etc.) for publicly traded companies.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Data
The OECD Data is a database containing hundreds of statistical time series for the OECD and selected non-member counties. It covers broad topics including agriculture, development, education, employment, energy, environment, finance, health, and government. It also allows us to explore the data by country. Furthermore, it has different formats available, charts, maps, and tables, to name a few. It includes data for over 100 counties and regions worldwide giving further data access to the public who are interested in a specific county or region.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
BEA is an agency of the Department of Commerce. BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the nation's economy.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Statistics about the U.S. labor market including market activity, labor conditions, and price changes in the economy. Within this website is the Occupational Outlook Handbook which is collected information on hundreds of jobs including training, earnings, job prospects, job responsibilities, and working conditions.
USAspending
USAspending.gov is the official source for spending data for the U.S. Government. Its mission is to show the American public what the federal government spends every year.

Business Research Resources: Online Resources

Open Access Academic Resources

Other Online Resources

Tips and Tricks

Get a Library Card

Finding Statistics

News Feed